Marschallin Monday

My third Marschallin Monday post, and there seems to be a common theme arising:  RED.

https://i1.wp.com/www.musik-heute.de/wp-content/uploads/musik_heute_de/2014/06/Renee-Fleming-in-Der-Rosenkavalier.jpg

Renee Fleming in red? Works for me.  Here’s the end of that act (Act 1), which to me has to be one of the most exquisite things ever written:

And in looking for that, I discovered this new promo video for the upcoming Rosenkavalier at the Met in 2017.

I could do without the “it’s tricky playing a woman playing a boy” trope but my I’m looking forward to this.

Leave a Reply

